Goodbye, Rebel Blue

17290286Much like WELCOME, CALLER, THIS IS CHLOE, I adored Coriell’s second YA novel, GOODBYE, REBEL BLUE. The voices are totally different, but there’s something about Coriell’s style that jives with me. She shall be added to my automatic-read-everything-they-ever-write list forthwith, alongside Megan McCafferty, Melina Marchetta and Rainbow Rowell.

Goodreads blurb:

Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

I loved all the characters that populated this universe and Rebel was an interesting narrator to follow. The only thing I wish we got more of was Rebel’s history. We definitely got enough to understand the story and Rebel’s motivations, but I just loved the idea of a kid traveling around the world with her free-spirited photographer mother. I’d read a whole book about that! In fact, one of my WIPs (that has sort of languished while I took time off from writing) is about a boy whose mom drags him all around the country, never staying in one place for more than a few months. So I guess I’m partial to that type of story.

Anyway, GOODBYE, REBEL BLUE is an entertaining read with a great philosophic bent. Free will or predestination? I love reading about characters who explore Big Questions, and Rebel does it within the framework of a fun hook that keeps the pages turning.

Have you read GOODBYE, REBEL BLUE? Who are your automatic-read-everything authors?

Share My Wisdom:

2 comments

Leave a Reply to Crystal Cancel reply